Skip to main content
The ANED logo

The Academic Network of European Disability Experts (ANED)

About us

Academic Network of European Disability experts

The Academic Network of European Disability experts (ANED) was created by the European Commission in December 2007. The aim is to establish and maintain a pan-European academic network in the disability field that will support policy development in collaboration with the Commission's Disability Unit.

ANED builds upon the expertise of existing disability research centres, supported by national experts, thematic rapporteurs, and links to relevant networks in the disability policy field. Its philosophy and aims support the objectives of European disability policy towards the goal of full participation and equal opportunities for all disabled people.

In this way, ANED provides a coordinating infrastructure of academic support for implementation of the European Disability Strategy and the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities.

Management and membership

The Network is managed by Human European Consultancy in partnership with the Centre for Disability studies at the University of Leeds.

The Network operates under a service contract with the European Commission and consists of institutional members, being academic institutions, and individual experts covering the EU Member States, candidate countries and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. In the service contract with the Commission there is one institution or individual expert for each of the countries which is the contact for ANED in that country. These institutions and individuals are responsible for the reporting on the situation in their country and they communicate with other institutions and experts in their country.

The European Disability Forum (EDF) and Age Platform Europe are partners in ANED, representing two major stakeholders organisations of EU persons with disabilities at EU level. 

ANED management team

Project director

Ivette Groenendijk

Human European Consultancy
Wilhelminapark 61, 3581 NP Utrecht
The Netherlands
Tel: +31 30 232 6431
www.humanconsultancy.com
Email: ivette@humanconsultancy.com

Scientific director

Mark Priestley

Professor of Disability Policy
Centre for Disability Studies
University of Leeds
LEEDS, LS2 9JT, UK
Tel: +44 113 343 4417
www.leeds.ac.uk/disability-studies/
Email: m.a.priestley@leeds.ac.uk

ANED research & content support

Research team

Name Oganization Email
Professor Anna Lawson University of Leeds
Professor Paula Pinto University of Lisbon
Stefanos Grammenos Centre for European Social and Economic Policy (CESEP)
Professor Rannveig Traustadóttir University of Iceland
Professor Lisa Waddington Maastricht University

Content support

Name Oganization Email
Yuliya Kuznetsova University of Lisbon

NGO representatives

Name Oganization Email
Nadia Hadad European Disability Forum
Heidrun Mollenkopf AGE Platform Europe
 

ANED country members

In each of the countries ANED has one institute or individual expert as the contact for that country.

The contacts are:

Country Name Email
Austria Ursula Naue ursula.naue@univie.ac.at
Belgium Geert Van Hove Geert.VanHove@UGent.be
Bulgaria Slavka Kukova slavka.kukova@gmail.com
Croatia Tihomir Žiljak tziljak@gmail.com
Cyprus Katerina Mavrou K.Mavrou@euc.ac.cy
Czech Republic Jan Siska jan.siska@pedf.cuni.cz
Denmark Steen Bengtsson sb@sfi.dk
Estonia Luule Sakkeus luule.sakkeus@tlu.ee
Finland Teppo Kroger teppo.kroger@jyu.fi
France Serge Ebersold serge.ebersold@cnam.fr
FYR Macedonia Zvonko Shavreski zvonko@polioplus.org.mk
Germany Monika Schröttle monika.schroettle@tu-dortmund.de
Greece Eleni Strati elenistrati@gmail.com
Hungary Tamás Gyulavári gyulavari.tamas@jak.ppke.hu
Iceland James Gordon Rice james@hi.is
Ireland Eilionoir Flynn eilionoir.flynn@nuigalway.ie
Italy Giampiero Griffo giambatman@tin.it
Latvia Daina Calite-Bordane dainapo@inbox.lv
Liechtenstein Wilfried Marxer wm@liechtenstein-institut.li
Lithuania Jonas Ruskus jonas.ruskus@vdu.lt
Luxembourg Arthur Limbach-Reich Arthur.limbach@uni.lu
Malta Maria Victoria Gauci maria.v.gauci@um.edu.mt
Montenegro Nenad Koprivica nenad.koprivica@cedem.me
Netherlands José Smits jcsmits@dds.nl
Norway Johans Tveit Sandvin johans.t.sandvin@nord.no
Poland Ewa Wapiennik wapiennik@aps.edu.pl
Portugal Paula Pinto ppinto@iscsp.utl.pt
Romania Elena Tudose and Loredana Totoliciu elena@ipp.ro
Serbia Mima Ružičić-Novković mimaczu@gmail.com
Slovakia Darina Ondrusova d.ondrusova@gmail.com
Slovenia Darja Zaviršek darja.zavirsek@fsd.uni-lj.si
Spain Miguel A. Verdugo and Cristina Jenaro verdugo@usal.es
Sweden Johanna Gustafsson johanna.gustafsson@oru.se
Turkey Betul Yalcin betulyn@gmail.com 
United Kingdom Anna Lawson A.M.M.Lawson@leeds.ac.uk